Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

Five Little Pieces for Piano

For piano solo

opus number: 27
completion date: 1964
duration: 5 minutes
scoring: Solo piano
world premiere: August 1964, Wardour Castle Summer School, Wiltshire
Sir Peter Maxwell Davies piano
publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
category: Instrumental work
difficulty level: 3
programme note: Short Note by Paul Griffiths

Unlike the Five Pieces (1956), their little companions are separate miniatures, collected over a period of some years. Again modern continental examples are invoked (one might add Stockhausen to the earlier set's Schoenberg and Boulez), but this is music as English as the Mulliner Book and change-ringing: two other potent influences.
composer’s note: These were written between 1960 and 1964, each following immediately the composition of a large-scale work, and presenting in microscopic crystalline form the harmonic complex of the related 'parent' piece.
Search Work
a b c d e f g
h i j k l m n
o p q r s t u
v w x y z